#68 The Graces.

Synopsis:

Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

This beautifully written thriller will grip you from its very first page. Goodreads.

 

Laure Eve - The GracesAbout the book:

Author: Laure Eve

Book length: 432 pages

Published: September 1, 2016

Series: The Graces #1

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, YA, Witches, Magic, Paranormal, Mystery, Contemporary, High School, Supernatural

Rating:  45-quill4,5 out of 5 quills

Started reading: September 20

Finished reading: September 25

“Everyone said they were witches. I desperately wanted to believe it. I’d only been at this school a couple of months, but I saw how it was. They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake, stares following their backs and their hair.”

What did I think about the book?

You know why I chose this quote? This one shows us Laure’s writing style a bit. And she specifically mentions their hair. And yes, hair is a bit of an obsession in this book =] I think it’s because of Laure’s little obsession with her hair herself hahaha…

First I gotta talk about the ending… Wrong order I know. But I’m glad I’m a patient reader – I hate to DNF books, so I have done that like 3 times in my life, I think…. I met Laure last week and heard her talking about the darkness in this book and how her editor wanted the things darker and darker while she was writing The Graces… So I was waiting for the darkness. Most of the book is happy and feels like a rainbow and sunshine to me… But the end, oh, oh, the end… It was dark girl, it was pitch black. I see a lot of reviews on how it was so predictable, but I did not see that twist coming. I swear, I did not… And I swear again, I loved it!!

It felt like a little movie in my head. The writing was very descriptive and very clear. I like that kind of writing, it makes visualizing that much easier. The world building was good. It wasn’t outstanding, but it’s not necessary in this book. If you’ve ever been to Great Britain – and I have multiple times to big cities and the country – it’s easy to picture the town in your head.

The story building was good. It was a bit slow, but you were rewarded big time in the end of the book. Like I said earlier it felt like a rainbow most of the book and the ending was pitch black. That dark… That plot twist was amazing, for me unexpected and really dark.

For me this book wasn’t mainly about witches, spells and magic. It was mostly about family, friends, feeling alone and like an outcast. The outcast with deeper and secret reasons trying to be friends with the hottest in town. Not for their money, fame or power. Okay, not the power we know in this life. The power of magic is what she seeks. A way to undo her own magic, or is it another curse? That we gotta find out in the next book, on which I can’t wait!!

I know it takes place in high school. I like the fact Laure makes the other characters like typical teenagers…. Cruel, harsh and gossipy… Like our own experiences of high school… For some it’s a blast, for others a living hell..

A lonely girl, trying to feel adored, wanted and loved. Caught in a web of secrets, lies and people walking around with a constant mask. The question was asked if her intentions conform the friendship are truthful or whether it’s the other way around…..

A girl trying to find herself in the chaos that is her life. Boring from a distance, chaos from close by….

A family with secrets, siblings with intentions, magic that is real? or magic that isn’t?

 

P.S.: One thing satisfied me… This book contains cake =] Wouldn’t have expected otherwise…

P.P.S.: At the meeting Laure gave us the advice not to care what others think of you. It makes life so much easier. It’s a very difficult advice to follow, she knows that by experience. But I think she tries to tell us this with writing this book as well. Because River cares a lot about being loved, famed and adored by others. She gets sucked into this chaos. And ask her and Marcus, once loved and seen as family/best friend, could also mean one day your spit out and trash to the ones you called family/best friend…. It’s most important that you care what you think of yourself…. Being happy in life starts with loving yourself..

P.P.P.S.: I don’t know River’s birth name?!?!?!? Is it just me or was that intentional?????

 

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

