#53 Talon.

Synopsis:

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons. Goodreads.

 

Julie Kagawa - TalonAbout the book:

Author: Julie Kagawa

Book length: 449 pages

Published: October 28, 2014

Series: Talon #1

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, YA, Dragons, Romance, Paranormal

Rating:  ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Started reading: August 20

Finished reading: August 23

“You really care for them, don’t you? I wouldn’t have expected it.”
“Well, to paraphrase a famous fictional ogre, dragons are like onions – we have layers.”

What did I think about the book?

I love Julie Kagawa, seriously. I loved the Iron Fae series and now this!! Already loved dragons, but this is a completely new dragon thing for me… I love it!!

The spine of the book says ‘One killer storyteller’ by MTV. They sure have it right. This woman knows how to tell stories. She lets me discover new terrain in fantasy and her imagination. She took me to the Iron Realms and now she lets me into the life of a girl who is secretly a dragon. And I can’t help but caressing my book. It’s so shiny!!

“I picked up a piece of quartz I found in the desert one afternoon and held it up to the light, letting it glitter in my palm.Hey, I couldn’t help it. I liked shiny things; it was in my blood.”

No I’m not a dragon, but I like shiny things and they distract me a lot.. [ADHD much hehe ^^, no I’m not the always hyperactive kind, can be, but mostly I like to be alone and be in silence… All those noises all day, my bf likes to game and watch tv at the same time, while a fan is blowing, two phones are busy, he likes to report his gaming too and then the rest of the world… So yeah, I like to create my moments of silence, I crave them. They give me inner peace… Namaste?] See got distracted again and explained too much not relating to this review of this pretty book… So back to the point, this cover is beautiful and shiny!! I love how it’s like a dragon hide with all the scales.. And red and shiny are a perfect combination =]

Her storytelling is amazing, her build up is amazing. She took my breath away in the last few chapters… I was so freaking thrilled by those pages, I couldn’t and wouldn’t stop reading. So I didn’t hehe^^ I flew through part 2, sunshine and being alone helps a lot. But Julie had me like ‘She’s getting send back to Talon!!’ a lot throughout the story, which was good. Because it was so unpredictable and surprising, it made the book much more exciting to read.

The romance in this story is absolutely adorable!! Two beings – let’s call them beings as one is not particularly human haha – falling for each other without knowing what it feels like to fall for each other. A human, who’s been training all his life and has no sense of fun or love for that matter. And a dragon in human form, who’s not supposed to have human feelings, but gets them anyway…. First kisses, first dates, how the hell does this work? They’re like ‘1, 2, 3, check, check, is this mic on?’ ‘That’s not a mic, it’s a blender for God’s sake!!’ xD These two humoured me so much I wanted to give them advice.. I wanted to actually feel like that again. Exploring life and love… It’s so darn cute!! But they were fast learners. They had to be in this book, with that ending. Nope, not gonna spoil ya there. You fill in the blanks, no don’t be so dirty hahaha!! Go read it if you want to know what I’m talking about!! I love puppy love… Or in this case dragon hatchling love^^

“My insides fluttered, sending curls of heat through my stomach and shivers all the way down my spine. So, this was what it was like to kiss someone…..and mean it.”

Aren’t they cute? ^^

“I wanted to spend more time with her; she was constantly in my thoughts, and right now the only thing I wanted was to lean in and kiss her. Which was, of course, disastrous for the mission, but I couldn’t help it. Somewhere between that day on the beach when I’d met her for the first time and the night of the party when we’d kissed in the ocean, she had become something more than a potential target. She had, very inexplicably, become the most important thing in my life.
And that terrified me.”

Then we have Riley/Cobalt/the Rogue dragon…. Intriguing, dangerous, caring, an onion, Gorgeous Double B, traitor, Shrek impersonator, saviour…. He is all this and more… I liked his part in this story, and from the cover and the title of the next book I think we’ll see a lot more of him!!

Dante is a bitch!! There I said it… I couldn’t believe what he did, and I still can’t.. It broke my heart with what he did to his twin… But I’m still interested in his part in this story…

Lilith is like her name says… She’s bad news, like catastrophic-nature-disaster-bad-news… I don’t want to see her again, but I’m afraid we haven’t seen the last of her… I picture her with black long hair and a white streak in it… I can’t help it.. She just looks like a bitch to me in my visualizations with that hair… A true snake!!

From what I’ve learned, I’m starting to hate Talon as much as Ember does… I’m curious about the truth and what they have in store for Ember, Riley and Dante…

“Rnesh karr slithis,” I hissed back, which was Draconic for eat your own tail, the dragon version of go screw yourself. No extra translation needed.”

I love the humour entwined with the story. It’s who Ember is, and I like her and her fiery personality.. Ba Dum Tss…. Fiery hehehehe^^ Sorry couldn’t help myself laughing at that xD She has a personality I think a lot of us can relate to. We want freedom, to make our own life choices. But I can’t say we are all as brave as Ember is, damn girl you’ve got balls!!

“Shark!” I yelled as my feet hit the wet sand. “There’s a shark out there! Everyone get out of the water!”

Man, you want to see humans move fast? Scream that on a crowded beach and watch what happens. Its amazing the fear people have for a scaly, sharp toothed predator. I watched the water empty in seconds, parents scooping up their children and heading to shore, desperate to get out of the ocean, and found it a little ironic. They were so terrified of the big, nasty monster out in the water, when there was a bigger, nastier, deadlier one right here on the beach.”

Although I can see how she’s a lot braver than most of us… I would kick some as too if I were a dragon in disguise =]

 

So I’m curious to see where this story is going next… But first gotta finish the #ReadThemAllThon books and some NetGalley books I’m afraid… [I do like them too!!] But I’ll definitely read the next installment…

I hope to have some spare money next month to buy [one or more of] her other books!! She’s in The Netherlands next month and will be in my part of the country as well!! I’d love to meet !!

 

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

+20CP

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

