#51 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows. Goodreads.

 

Ransom Riggs - Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar ChildrenAbout the book:

Author: Ransom Riggs

Book length: 352 pages

Published: June 7, 2011

Series: Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Fiction, War, Paranormal, Mystery

Rating:  ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Started reading: August 17

Finished reading: August 19

“How many times have I told you? Polite persons do not take supper in the nude.”

What did I think about the book?

Okay, I did not know what to expect from this book, but certainly not this. And that’s not in a bad way. I think I expected a story of how Miss Peregrine got her collection of Peculiar Children and about their lives in the home. This turned out to be a surprise for me in a good way.

I liked this story. At first, like I said, I was surprised how it started. I got myself questioning of how this beginning could end up at Miss Peregrine’s Home…. But this start got me interested in how this would turn out.

So the storyline was very interesting, especially in the build-up. The climax came at the right moment and the story got mini-climaxes built into the main storyline. So this story has got you excited at the end, but also at other moments to keep you hooked to the story.

The world building was amazingly done. The story was so descriptive, it felt like being there. It did help I’ve been to Wales myself, but I’ve never been to Florida. I thought it was done really good.

I loved the characters, even though I think we get to know them better in the next books than we did here. This book felt like an introduction to a deeper story with the Peculiar Children.

The photographs used in this book are amazing, with some I can’t believe they are real. I felt like some of them were taken just for this story. But it amazed me to see that all photographs are authentic and old. The letters sent were amazingly beautiful, but sometimes hard to read on my Kobo… I managed to read all off them, with major focussing on the small and cursive writing.. But I loved those details, it makes the story so much more interesting and beautifies the book so much!!

I’m excited to read the other books and his next release Tales of the Peculiar.

 

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

+20CP

8 thoughts on “#51 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

