#46 A Promise of Fire. [NetGalley]

I received this book through NetGalley as a granted wish by the publisher Sourcebooks Casablanca. I also got it in exchange for an honest review. I’m thanking NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for granting me the wish and providing me with the copy of this book.

Synopsis:

Catalia “Cat” Fisa is a powerful clairvoyant known as the Kingmaker. This smart-mouthed soothsayer has no interest in her powers and would much rather fly under the radar, far from the clutches of her homicidal mother. But when an ambitious warlord captures her, she may not have a choice…

Griffin is intent on bringing peace to his newly conquered realm in the magic-deprived south. When he discovers Cat is the Kingmaker, he abducts her. But Cat will do everything in her power to avoid her dangerous destiny and battle her captor at every turn. Although up for the battle, Griffin would prefer for Cat to help his people willingly, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to coax her…even if that means falling in love with her. Goodreads.

 

Amanda Bouchet - A Promise of FireAbout the book:

Author: Amanda Bouchet

Book length: 448 pages

Published: August 2, 2016 by Sourcebooks Casablance

Series: The Kingmaker Chronicles #1

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Fiction, Magic, Fantasy Romance, Adult, Mythology, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, New Adult, Abuse, Family, War

Rating:  ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Started reading: August 10

Finished reading: August 14

“I get out of bed, pull on a lightweight wrap because the former princesses’ nightgowns are so heer they’re practically see-through – scratch that, they are see-through – and answer the door with a knife in my hand.”

What did I think about the book?

To be absolutely directly to the point: It’s A Court of Mist and Fury good!! So now that you’re interested in reading this review and the book, I’ll explain myself.

I got this book through NetGalley and requested it based on the description given and the cover – which is powerful and absolutely beautiful.

This book has it all, like I said ACOMAF good, it’s on my favourites list and I’ll definitely buy a hardcopy.. Unless someone wants to give me one^^ just kidding hahaha…

The book grabs your interest in the first chapter. I did not imagine this book starting in a circus… But it makes a good foundation for the story. This is where this story was supposed to start. Prequels aren’t necessary in this book, we learn about Cat’s past throughout the book. It even has a major hint in it, which is unspoken in the story, but thought by Cat. I know this is a major hint for her past and for the rest of the series. And now you will all pay 150% attention to the story to not miss this hint^^ I like being a bit evil myself – curtesies – I love to tease people with surprises or secrets and then not spoil it hahaha.

Catalina “Cat” Fisa, such a strong character. I love her, sometime pity her and mostly laugh with her and stand by her side in tough times. She’s fierce, knows how to protect herself and those she cares about – stupid, stupid, stupid [from the mind of Cat, think of That 70’s Show] – knows how to have fun, but sees herself doomed by a prophecy. Doesn’t want anybody to get close, because of Andromea, the biggest threat in this story. She punishes herself for wanting a normal life, believes she can’t have one. She struggles a lot…. But her thoughts, visibly written throughout the story are amazing.

Thank the Gods. Gag!

Sort of.

Except not at all.

Gah! I’m going insane!

These thought just made me laugh so hard hahahaha.. These thoughts she has, to believe it’s disgusting kissing Griffin, but her body and heart thinks otherwise. So this contradiction in herself is real funny. It’s a yes and no game the whole time…

I love her witty and snarly comments as well. She want to push everyone away and seem like a true bitch. She wants to be the bitch in order to protect herself and those around her:

“Never in a billion suns. Not even if Zeus showed up as a swan and tried to peck me in your direction. I wouldn’t go with you even in my other option was Hades dragging me to the Underworld for an eternal threesome with Persephone.”

How can you not laugh at these remarks? =]

Beta Sinta, or Griffin. Beta Sinta is the title Griffin has to be the Beta of the region Sinta. Griffin – swoon – a handsome, strong, masculine and powerful warlord. With a tiny heart we discover. He’s funny, witty and very protective. But he loves his family, and the family that’s not blood-related. The Beta team that is. I love his character. I won’t talk too much about him, it would spoil a lot. But I can say he’s in for some hot scenes – oh, my!!

The Beta team further consists of Carver, Griffin’s brother, the everlasting flirt. Kato, the sword master, and Flynn who loves his ax. They are a very loyal bunch, and very protective, but also very funny. They feel like having older brothers..

So these are the characters I will discuss in this review, there are plenty more to discuss, but it would spoil the story too much.. If you would like I could make a complete review without holding back for a chance of spoiling^^ Just let me know

I love the magic in this story. It’s not that anybody has magic. It’s gotten by visiting the Oracles, like at the Ice-Plains. It’s a truly dangerous road to follow. Sinta has the least magic, because it’s farthest away from the Ica-Plains. Cat is a category on her own, a gift from the Gods. She doesn’t own magic, but what she can do…. I won’t tell you^^ Griffin is Hoi Polloi, a tribe without any magic ever. But Griffin is not so standard himself. Go find out why and read this book!!

I love the use of Greek Gods in this book, I love mythology and that’s that. So to see those Gods interwoven in this story is another plus from me.. I love how Cerberus has a part in this story. Especially when you’ve finished the story and see that he’s not so simple a dog with three heads..

Most of all I like the humour in this story, it’s makes it easier to read. The story in itself is quite complicated with all the royalty and such, the humour lightens it and keeps you interested.

“I’ll remind you tomorrow when I spank you in a sword fight.”

The family ties are lovely in the Hoi Polloi family ruling Sinta. They show how it could be, instead of slaughtering each other to climb up in power… Cat is surprised to see this kind of relationship in a family… She feels confused by how nice they are to her, especially Griffin’s little sisters Kaia and Jacosta.. Jacosta being of her age likes Cat a lot:

“I think it would be lovely to have you as a friend,” she answers.

Warmth spreads through me. Gah! When did I turn so emotional?

Another big plus in this book the world building. It’s a fictive world, but I could imagine being there. It’s described so vividly, not only in pictures but also in smell, sound and feeling. I really appreciate that, as I’m a visual reader. It makes the world complete.

So… do you think this book is A Court of Mist and Fury good?? I think it is, that’s why it gets 5 out of 5 quills and is on my favourites list!!

                                           ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

