#41 The Lost Symbol.

Synopsis:

The Capitol Building, Washington DC: Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon believes he is here to give a lecture. He is wrong. Within minutes of his arrival, a shocking object is discovered. It is a gruesome invitation into an ancient world of hidden wisdom.

When Langdon’s mentor, Peter Solomon – prominent mason and philanthropist – is kidnapped, Langdon realizes that his only hope of saving his friend’s life is to accept this mysterious summons.

It is to take him on a breathless chase through Washington’s dark history. All that was familiar is changed into a shadowy, mythical world in which Masonic secrets and never-before-seen revelations seem to be leading him to a single impossible and inconceivable truth… Goodreads

 

Dan Brown - The Lost SymbolAbout the Book:

Author: Dan Brown

Book length: 670 pages

Published: September 15, 2009

Series: Robert Langdon #3

Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: July 2

Finished reading: July 9

“”In Lincoln’s day, this passage had a dirt floor and was filled with rats.” Langdon felt grateful the floor had been tiled; he was not a big fan of rats.”

 

What did I think of the book?

Another piece of the book I really liked was the following passage:

“I am a masterpiece. The goal of tattooing was never beauty. The goal was change. From the scarified Nubian priests of 2000 B.C., to the tattooed acolytes of the Cybele cult of ancient Rome, to the moko scars of the modern Maori, humans have tattooed themselves as a way of offering up theis bodies in partial sacrifice, enduring the physical pain of embellishment and emerging changed being.Despite the ominous admonitions of Leviticus 19:28, which forbade the marking of one’s flesh, tattoos had become a rite of passage shared by millions of people in the modern age – everyone from clean-cut teenagers to hard-core drug users to suburban housewives. The act of tattooing one’s skin was a transformative declaration of power, an announcement to the world: I am in control of my own flesh. The intoxicating feeling of control derived from physical transformation had addicted millions to flesh-altering practices… cosmetic surgery, body piercing, bodybuilding and steroids… even bulimia and transgendering. The human spirit craves mastery over its carnal shell.”

I have tattoos of my own, six and counting, and I love the way Dan Brown describes the feeling a tattoo gives a person.

The Lost Symbol is another masterpiece for me. I’ve read it 3 or 4 times now. It still excites me and still makes me want to keep turning those pages.I love how Dan Brown uses symbolism as his main subject every time with the Robert Langdon books. I loved Angels & Demons and The Da Vinci Code. He always gets me intrigued and right in the middle of my historical interests. I love mysteries and thrillers and I absolutely love his writing style.

He makes me feel like I want to study it all and become an expert like Robert Langdon his. Dan Brown’s books give me drive.His writing is descriptive, fast-pacing and thrilling. His use of actual historical events and persons are magnificent. His research is astounding. I admire how he has gotten so far in researching the Masonic Brotherhood. Most knowledge is, like Dan Brown points out, open to the public. But like in the book, parts are very secret. Like the initiation rites performed to enter a certain degree within the Brotherhood. The 33rd degree is a main topic in this book. Two of the main characters are initiated into the 33rd degree. Peter Solomon, a master of the 33rd degree and keeper of the secrets. And the bad guy in the story, Mal’ahk, has a devious ending. I did not foresee that plot twist!! We get a descriptive background story of him. Who he was before he became Mal’ahk, how he became who he is now and what his goals are. He plays a very smart and thought trough game of cat and mice. I love the switching of POV’s in the story between Robert and Mal’ahk.

There is another main character with her own told story and regular POV. She is Katherine Solomon, sister of Peter Solomon. They have a tragic history together. But they love each other and have supported each other in any possible way. In this story they relive some of their worst experiences/memories in their lives.

Katherine is a Noetic Scientist, financial fully supported by her brother. He arranged a very large space for her to prove her work and get results one day humankind will believe. Noetic science is a science where she will prove that thoughts have mass. That a soul has mass. And that thoughts can have an effect on life. It’s a very interesting branch of science, it had me hooked. I don’t think it would be so strange that a mass of people praying would have some effect on the world.

To me the plot and storyline were astoundingly good. I love his writing-style and it keeps me reading on and on. It makes that I can’t put down the book before I finish it – or fall asleep. The switching between POV’s makes a very thrilling story, where two storylines become liquid and merge perfectly. I love the fact it was set in Washington D.C. this time. It’s nice to see that America has a rich history as well. A lot of Americans forget their own history, Dan Brown reminds them of the richness.

I can’t wait for this book to be turned into a movie. I think Tom Hanks is the perfect Robert Langdon. The movies always become so spectacular and give the story even more life than it already has. Now it’s time for me to read Inferno. I’ve waited a long time for it to read. Owned a copy on day 1, but pushed myself to read the other books again before starting Inferno. So I got distracted, life got in the way and other books seduced me into reading them. I’m excited to read it, and I will finish it before the movie of Inferno airs. [p.s. I don’t get why Inferno is turned into a movie before The Lost Symbol?]

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

