#39 Soundless.

Synopsis:

In a village without sound…

For as long as Fei can remember, no one in her village has been able to hear. Rocky terrain and frequent avalanches make it impossible to leave the village, so Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink. Many go hungry. Fei and all the people she loves are plunged into crisis, with nothing to look forward to but darkness and starvation.

One girl hears a call to action…

Until one night, Fei is awoken by a searing noise. Sound becomes her weapon.

She sets out to uncover what’s happened to her and to fight the dangers threatening her village. A handsome miner with a revolutionary spirit accompanies Fei on her quest, bringing with him new risks and the possibility of romance. They embark on a majestic journey from the peak of their jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiguo, where a startling truth will change their lives forever…

And unlocks a power that will save her people. Goodreads

 

Richelle Mead - SoundlessAbout the Book:

Author: Richelle Mead

Book length: 266 pages

Published: November 10, 2015

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Fiction, Mythology, Romance, Myths

Rating:  ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart4 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: July 3

Finished reading: July 29

“A scream is a sound we make that is born of intense feeling. A scream of fear, of being startled, is often high-pitched. It may be short or prolonged. A scream may also accompany delight or amusement, though often that is more of a squeal. And a scream of sorrow or rage … well, that is an entirely different thing. That comes from a darker place, from the depths of our souls, and when we scream in those times, because we are sad or angry, there is a terrible knowledge that accompanies it, that we are giving voice to our emotions, to what is simply too big for our hearts to contain.

And as Li Wei cries out, I know Feng Ji is right. It is his heart I am hearing, a way of expressing what he feels over his father’s loss that is both primal and beautiful, and it comes from his soul and reaches something within mine. It is the sound my own heart made when my parents died, only I didn’t know it until now.”

 

What did I think of the book?

This book was way different of what I normally read. It’s a diverse book, that and the author made me interested in the book. I started reading this book because I had time to spare and needed a shorter standalone book before starting a read-a-thon. I did not finish before the read-a-thon though hahahaha. So that’s why it took me almost a month to finish it…

I must say I had a hard time getting the feeling of this story. But when I had read like 40% of the book I caught it. I don’t want to spoil the book, so I will keep this review shorter than my usual..

The plot was good, very good I must say. I flowed into the story, but was caught with surprise furtherone. I did not see that plot twist coming!! I loved the build-up in the book. It was nice and easy, until the plot twist. Then it got excited =] Richelle did a nice job again in describing the characters. Fei and Li Wei had good character growth and the dialogue between them was fascinating. I loved how a story we read and can’t see is about people who can’t hear. The mix of sound and silence was amazing.

The world building was astounding. I felt like being there and seeing every detail Fei was seeing. I’m happy with the correctness of the story. I like authors who do research when writing a story, especially when it includes regional cultures and habits.

All in all, I liked the story so I give it 4 out of 5 quills.

 

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

