#38 Yellow Brick War.

Synopsis:

Once upon a time, there was a girl from Kansas named Dorothy.

You might know her as the Girl Who Rode the Cyclone. She ended up in Oz, where she became friends with the Tin Woodman, the Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion. But the temptation of magic was too much for her. She let it change her. Her friends became twisted versions of their former selves.

The magical land of Oz is now a dark and menacing place.

My name is Amy Gumm. Tornadoes must have a thing about girls from Kansas, because I got swept away on one too. I also landed in Oz, where Good is Wicked, Wicked is Good, and the Wicked Witches clued me in to my true calling:

Assassin.

The only way to stop Dorothy from destroying Oz—and Kansas—is to kill her. And I’m the only one who can do it.

But I failed. Others died for my mistakes. Because of me, the portal between the worlds has been opened and Kansas and Oz are both in danger. And if I don’t find a way to close it?

Dorothy will make sure I never get to go home again. Goodreads.

 

Danielle Paige - Yellow Brick WarAbout the book:

Author: Danielle Paige

Book length: 270 pages

Published: March 15, 2016

Series: Dorothy Must Die #3

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, YA, Magic, Witch, Retellings, Adventure

Rating:  ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart half4,5 out of 5 quills

Started reading: June 3

Finished reading: June 7

“Sometimes I wonder if it’s even Dorothy’s fault., or if this place was just rotten from the start, underneath everything. If maybe that’s the price you pay for magic.”

What did I think about the book? [tiny spoilers]

I loved it, again!! Now I have to wait for book 4, damnit!!

This book was more modern that the previous two. That is because most of the story is set in Kansas this time. For Amy to save both worlds, she has to go back to her old high school. Okay, did not see this coming? But what was more interesting was the new and improved relationship between Amy and Madison, her past nemesis.

My heart broke as Amy’s broke in the beginning of the book. This ship can’t end?! Amy stuck at high school and Nox the sorcerer of the North… Will they be together again? I sure hope so!! Another relationship I loved to see it grow was between her and her mother… We all felt bad for Amy, rushed up by a tornado because her mother ditched her and fled to a bar with her best friend. How good a mother is she then huh?! But during the story we see her mother improving herself and truly wanting to be there for Amy. I liked that. Everyone makes mistakes and is flawed, but everyone should get a chance to redeem themselves. Her mother took that chance and redeemed herself okay… Not that Amy bought it at first, but in the end Amy is happy how her mother puts an effort in herself and tries to be a better mom and person.

Another plot twist comes around in the story. The Nome King.. Da da dummmmmmm… Now we’ve got more enemies to save Oz from. Not only Glinda and Dorothy or even Eve.. But the Nome King isn’t from Oz, he’s much older.. But his greed is big and he wants to invade Oz. So now Amy and the Order have more things/people to worry about than just Glinda and Dorothy. But luckily they can have Ozma’s help now she’s not a wackadoodle anymore.

 

How will this story end? I don’t want to spoil anymore, so back to reviewing other things than the story itself hahaha…

Danielle’s world building gets even better in this book. I love what she did to the Emerald Palace… It’s creepy ^^ The worlds even get more complicated as she adds Kansas and the lands of the Nome King to the story. I like her build up. I hope to see even more growth in this in the fourth book.

This wasn’t a long book, but it has a fast-paced story in it. A lot of excitement and tension build up, good scenes and a cliffhanger… Oh my… I’m looking forward to the rest of the novella’s and the fourth book, coming next year.

So this book gets 4,5 quills from me. I loved it very much!!

 

In case you’ve missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

