#35 The Wicked Will Rise.

Synopsis:

In this dark, high-octane sequel to the New York Timesbestselling Dorothy Must Die, Amy Gumm must do everything in her power to kill Dorothy and free Oz.

To make Oz a free land again, Amy Gumm was given a mission: remove the Tin Woodman’s heart, steal the Scarecrow’s brain, take the Lion’s courage, and then Dorothy must die…

But Dorothy still lives. Now the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has vanished, and mysterious Princess Ozma might be Amy’s only ally. As Amy learns the truth about her mission, she realizes that she’s only just scratched the surface of Oz’s past—and that Kansas, the home she couldn’t wait to leave behind, may also be in danger. In a place where the line between good and evil shifts with just a strong gust of wind, who can Amy trust—and who is really Wicked? Goodreads

 

Danielle Paige - The Wicked Will RiseAbout the Book:

Author: Danielle Paige

Book length: 293 pages

Published: March 31, 2015

Series: Dorothy Must Die #2

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Retellings, Magic, Witch, Paranormal, Fiction

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart half4,5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: May 26

Finished reading: May 31

“She had been both good and wicked and everything in between. She had been both at once, too, until it was hard for her to even tell the difference anymore.”

 

What did I think of the book?

I loved this book. I love this series. It starts where Dorothy Must Die ended… Personally I would’ve ended Dorothy Must Die with after the first chapter of The Wicked Will Rise… It would have been such a cliffhanger, you just couldn’t not want to read The Wicked Will Rise!! But Danielle is the author, I’m not [yet, hahaha]

oz-red-shoes

I love how Danielle gave the characters growth in this book. Take Amy Gumm, our heroine. She struggles with who to trust? What to trust in the world of Oz…. She discovers she’s nor good, neither bad herself… Furthermore, she learns that no one is truly good or wicked. But she remains human. Has snarky comments as the wrong times, like we all do sometimes hahaha…. Danielle Paige is really good in keeping her characters human… They’re flawed, like us, not perfect like a lot of book characters… When it’s life or death, they panic, I would, they make stupid decisions, I have and would make them again – I hope not of course, but hey I’m just a human too… and a bit impulsive and such… I feel like I can relate to Amy a bit, not because of the evil part, but the internal conflict. I believe we all have internal conflicts… Amy just also happens to have internal conflicts over the fact that she tasted power and magic and wants more… Is scared of becoming like Dorothy, but shows an evil side nevertheless… I loved how she struggled with the good and evil inside of her… Another aspect of how Danielle keeps them human…

Nox, Nox, Nox… sigh, I truly like the guy… They deserve to be together, they do! He showed again that he can be her tutor with magic, her ally in the war, her friend when needed and the guy she falls for even more… I love how his character grows in this book. He has a vulnerable side too, and I liked to see that part of him.. This also makes him human, but more likeable too.. The best part of him was to be able to talk reason into Amy when it was needed… He could calm her and soothe her, brick her back to reality and back to being Amy.

There are more characters in this series, I like them a lot, truly…. But I wont include them here, I feel like spoiling the whole thing if I talk about them… Right now, I’m not feeling like I can review them spoiler free =] Maybe I will include them in my review of Yellow Brick War!!

wicked witch oz.gif

Last but not least, this book is about villains too.. Danielle seems to love her villains a lot. Because she makes them so good as characters.. Not good as in they’re not evil, but good as in complicated, uncalculated persons with their own history, reasons, strategy’s, quirks and characteristics. But in making them villains, she makes them VILLAINS… They’re evil okay? They are all different, but eventually want the same thing, okay maybe except for the Tin man, the Scarecrow and the Lion…. They have their reasons for helping Dorothy.. For my opinions about them click the links to the short story reviews.

wicked witch oz 2.gif

Where Danielle Paige excels even more is in world-building.. I cold be standing in Oz next to Amy when I read this…. I fought her battles with her and lived every experience with her…  The good ones and the slightly less good ones, I was with her… I felt it all.. That is something good when reading a book… I don’t read books, I experience books!! And this was one hell of a rollercoaster experience in Oz…

 

In case you’ve missed these:

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
XoXo Felicia.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

