#34 Glass Sword.

Synopsis:

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul. Goodreads

 

Victoria Aveyard - Glass SwordAbout the Book:

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Book length: 464 pages

Series: Red Queen #2

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Fiction, Dystopia, Supernatural, Adventure

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: June 9

Finished reading: July 1

“Because I am weak, I turn in his arms. Because I am weak, I press my lips to his, searching for something to make me stop running, to make me forget. We are both weak, it seems. As his hands run over my skin, I feel a different sort of pain. Worse than Maven’s machine, deeper than my nerves. It aches like a hollow, like an empty weight. I am a sword, born of lightning, of this fire – and of Maven’s. One already betrayed me, and the other might leave me at any moment. But I do not fear a broken heart. I do not fear pain. I cling to Cal, Kilorn, Shade, to saving all the newbloods I can, because I am afraid of waking up to emptiness, to a place where my friends and family are gone and I am nothing but a single bolt of lightning in the blackness of a lonely storm. If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

What did I think of the book?

I can’t process it at once, this book, it leave an emptiness within me. I want to be there and help them. Save Mare, Cal, Kilorn, the Newbloods, the Reds and anyone else. I can’t help but feel Maven is a monster. But will his promise be of much worth? Is he indeed a man of his word? Could he be anything else than like the monster he is right now? Or is the shy and timid Maven still in there, buried deeply, hidden behind the blackness that is his heart, his soul, his everything?

I did have a harder time reading Glass Sword than reading Red Queen. It could be that I procrastinated it, because King’s Cage [beautiful cover by the way!!] will have to wait for February 7, 2017… But it wasn’t my month either. Right now [July 2] I’m running a bit of a fever, think I have a form of the flu since like a few days. I hope it will end soon. I’m thankful that this book and The Raven Boys got me out of my reading slump again. So I did finish it on July 1, but it was still June 30 for me hehe…. Flu got me sleeping most of the day, so I finished it at like 3 a.m. or so ^^

I liked the growth in this story. Not just of Mare, Cal, Farley, Kilorn, Shade and the Colonel. But the growth in the rebellion. The fight for freedom instead of war. Julian’s list is precious and a main theme throughout the book. I like all the new characters we call Newbloods. Some are weird people, some have an attitude to say ‘Excuse Me?!’ to, but mainly I like the new characters. Such a shame not all survived the book… I imagine Victoria writing and thinking “You’ll die!! Muwhahahahahaa *picture an evil scientist laugh* One I did love and it got me laughing like an evil scientist, and feeling Karma did a good job hehe.. I literally said “In your face, ……..” [not gonna spoil the name or gender]

A thing I liked most about the POV of Mare is how we get to experience her burden, emotions, loss, trust issues and her struggles. She is often portrayed as a traitor, selfish person, only thinking of her cause and not of the Reds suffering by Maven’s hands as well. She has a true hard time in this book. And I don’t believe King’s Cage will be much easier for her.

In February we will find out!!

 

In case you have missed these:

 

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

