#28 Splintered.

Synopsis:

This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence.

Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own. Goodreads

A.G. Howard - SplinteredAbout the Book:

Author: A.G. Howard

Book length: 371 pages

Series: Splintered #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Romance, Retellings, Magic, Paranormal, Fairy Tales, Adventure, Fiction

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart half3,5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: June 7

Finished reading: June

“Raising one hand, he tilts his hat to that sexy slant. “You want me. Admit it.”
Even if he’s partly right, I’ll never tell him. “Why would I want you?”
He lifts three fingers to countdown. “Mysterious. Rebellious. Troubled. All those qualities women find irresistible.”
“Such an optimist.”
“My cup is never empty.”
“Too bad your brain is.” The words bite, but my smile softens with affection.”

What did I think of the book?

At first I thought ‘yeah, I like this book’, but then I felt it got kind off lengthy. I felt she needed too much words to write the story.

What I did find very funny is that Alyssa is distracted in life by all the white noise around her. The white noise is actually the talking of flowers and bugs. So she has a problem with focussing on one thing. Except when she kills the source of the white noise. So when I was reading the book, which I mostly read in the bath tub, I got distracted a lot. With noise all around me. Yes, I love reading in my tub because of the silence. But when Formula 1 is on tv it’s kinda loud. And since I like sports too, I get distracted by the commentators. Also reading with my boyfriend in the room is kind off a challenge too. He loves to talk to me, report his moves in games, wants me to watch parts of his gaming and loves to combine gaming with watching tv… Sigh… And since I’ve got a little trouble concentrating hehe…. So I felt a little like Alyssa while reading this book. And since the book is a slower read than other books the concentrating on the book part was even more difficult.

But I do have good points about the book aswell… About 80% percent in I was shocked!! What a plot twist that was. I did not see that one coming!! I’m not going to spoil today so you have to going to read for yourself!!=]

I must say I admire A.G. Howard in her version of Alice in Wonderland. It wasn’t a plain fairy tale, Alice was just a child. A.G.’s version holds more psychedelic scenes, more horrific characters and scenery and more complicated storylines. This is something I truly like. Not everything a child remembers is all about roses and sunshine. But was it all a dream? Was it Alice or wasn’t it, who told the story to Lewis Carroll?

Morpheus, Morpheus… What a difficult character he is.. One time he’s kind and sexy and all, and sometimes he’s a straight pain in the arse. I started to like him more towards the end of the story though, couldn’t read him at first. But he has a key-role in the story. I hope he will develop into something more in the next books.

Jeb is a sweet-heart. I would fall for him. He did have another girlfriend, but he explains why throughout the story. He would literally die for her and that’s truly cute. Even in the end, again not going to spoil, he would do the same all over again. If you want to know why I’m being so cryptic go read the book ;] But I love how A.G. tells a love story. Even if it’s a difficult one. A lot of factors are important here, but they want to make their love work. How they do it, is a kind off love that will overcome anything. It’s not a simple love they have and I like that. Because love ain’t simple!!

Alyssa is one tough girl. Even with a concentration problem, family and love issues. Struggling with who she is and who she wants to be. Overcoming great danger nd difficult tasks. Being used as a pawn in a big game and finding out the truth about her family and keep standing. I like her, even all her funny quirks.

So my next read will be The Moth in the Mirror, the first novella in this trilogy.

 

In case you have missed these:

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

