Red Queen. [Red Queen #1]

Book Review 2

Synopsis:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart. Goodreads

 


Victoria Aveyard - Red QueenAbout the Book:

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Book length: 383 pages

Series: Red Queen #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Fiction, Dystopia, Magic, Romance, Paranormal, Science Fiction, Supernatural

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: February 23

Finished reading: March 1

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

“Rise, red as the dawn.”

“There’s nothing wrong with being different.”

What did I think of the book?

Kaboom…. Mind is blown to thousands of little pieces…. This is what we needed…. Picture perfect for me… It wasn’t until later on that I found out about this book *coughs* shame shame, feel like Cersei doing the walk of atonement, shame shame *gets thrown mud at her face* shame, shame… But pghhggh [sound of another explosion in my head] this was truly fabulous!!

I heard a lot of comparison to other novels about this books. One I can relate to hehe: little lightning-girl <–> girl on fire…. You see the similarity? And both girls from slums, hard lives and losses of family. Both end up with others while their best friend is in love with them and both are used for rebellion. But other than those facts I’m still blown away. I love Katniss and I love Mare. Although she can be a little bitch sometimes hehe… I like being a little bitch sometimes too hahaha… We all secretly do, or not so secretly hahah.

This story has it all, characters with a good potential to grow. A storyline that is amazing. A plot-twist that shocks you, blows you away and made me swear like ^&*&^Y%$^& or something like that. Can you relate to this too? =]

Mare, the girl from the slums. A thief, who wants to provide for her family. A dad broken from the war, a mother caring for her father. Two brothers in the army, one believed to be dead and a little sister with a gift Mare ruins.

A girl in a wrong place, wrong time scene finds out she’s not just a poor girl who will be sent to her death in the trenches. Welcome the little lightning-girl. A girl now pretending to be Silver, trying to fit in with the Silvers. Supposed to marry a prince, the new insider for the Scarlet Guard inside the royal palace, and spit out by the rest of the Queenstrial girls. Fighting hard to be believable as a Silver, trying to not get caught doing the Scarlet Guard’s business. Falling for a prince, but another prince is there.

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

PLOT-TWIST. Betrayal can be hard to foresee. That ending is amazing. I truly did not see that one coming. Victoria you’re so evil haha!! I loved it and couldn’t wait for Glass Sword and luckily I found a signed edition here in The Netherlands =]

Okay, Maven, Maven, Maven…… A true underdog, I didn’t expect his character to grow like this =o His growth made me dislike him more and more throughout the story. Can Victoria change my hatred for Maven in Glass Sword of will I hate him even more?

Cal… the prince on the dirt road hahaha… I like him.. He may be the high and mighty, beloved prince but I don’t know, I like him. I love the dance scene of him and Mare *swoon*.. He gets my fire burning hahaha.

I must say Victoria broke my heart in the end of the book. Some characters get a sad ending in this story, I liked them. But hey, a great writer always kills the characters you like. Look at our murderous friend George R.R. Martin.

536e5a0a4d90e.jpeg

 

I can’t wait for the movie to be finished =] =] =] *jumps around very hyped* I visualized the whole thing, like I do with every story, my mind is good at that. But visualizing and drawing it, I totally sucks at that hahahaa… I want to see all the abilities and the Silver blood!! Yes, I’m a fan of bloody things hahaha.. Like thrillers, Stephen King, Game of Thrones, Vampy stuff, Bones and such…. But I truly want to see the world of Red Queen. This time I hope all the books will be turned into a movie. I hated Vampire Academy for only having one movie. The fans had to bring up $1.5m for the second movie to be produced, they lacked $200k…… The storyline would have been a good movie series!!

tumblr_n6eejhw8BB1taao3wo1_500.gif

But for now, not worrying about movies and such… I loved it, go read it and make others read this amazing book as well!! Go, get off your asses and tell people =]

In case you’ve missed these:

 

are-getting-married-3

And today is the last day to vote on my poll!! #MakeMeRead It Read-A-Thon. You decide what I’ll read from tomorrow till next Sunday..Whoopwhoop..

 

 

 

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

