#24 Shadow and Bone.

Synopsis 1:

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Shadow and Bone is the first installment in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy. Goodreads

Synopsis 2:

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor. Goodreads

 

About the Book:

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Book length: 358 pages

Series: The Grisha #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Paranormal, Adventure, Romance, Dystopia, Magic, Fiction

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: April 6

Finished reading: April 8

“I don’t care if you danced naked on the roof of the Little Palace with him. I love you, Alina, even the part of you that loved him.”

Gotta post two quotes hehe!!

“I missed you every hour. And you know what the worst part was? It caught me completely by surprise. I’d catch myself just walking around to find you, not for any reason, just out of habit, because I’d seen something that I wanted to tell you about or because I wanted to hear your voice. And then I’d realize that you weren’t there anymore, and every time, every single time, it was like having the wind knocked out of me. I’ve risked my life for you. I’ve walked half the length of Ravka for you, and I’d do it again and again and again just to be with you, just to starve with you and freeze with you and hear you complain about hard cheese every day. So don’t tell me why we don’t belong together,” he said fiercely.”

What did I think of this book? [spoiler free]

OH MY GOD I’M IN LOVE. HAIL LEIGH BARDUGO, AMEN TO YOU!! This series is one of my favourite series of all time!! [Nothing can beat Harry Potter though, for multiple reasons. One of them being that the Harry Potter series was my youth from the age 7 on. And I will never stop loving that series.] Seriously, I heard so much excitement about this series and I got curious. Started reading and then came Chapter 2…. I got hooked and never let go. I read these books when I borrowed them. I finally got my hands on this beauty and it’s signed!! Can’t believe someone would sell multiple signed books [Got Talon, Soldier and Six of Crows signed from her as well!!!!!!!], but I thank her dearly and now I am happy^^ [I’ll just pretend to be Amy when I see the signature hahahaa]

The story was set with a lot of Russian influences. I like that, I haven’t seen many fantasy books with Russian influences. I only know of Vampire Academy and Bloodlines by Richelle Mead. I truly like those influences. It gives more exotic names, places and surroundings. Yes, I call the deep winter a kind of exotic hahahaha. I live in The Netherlands so the climate is moderate. Not extremely hot or cold. So both extremes are called exotic here^^.

Like I said somewhat words back, I loved this book. It got me hooked from chapter 2. This is written in a way you’ll find yourself on the edge of your chair and never want to stop reading. You’ll find yourself a bit broken when the book is done. You’ll want to un-read it, just to read it again for the first time and be blown away like that all over again. You’ll find yourself wanting more and desperately wanting to read the next book immediately. This book has a perfect build-up, won’t ever bore you and keeps your attention, no matter what. I’m easily distracted, but I had no problem focussing on this one. The book grabbed me and took me in. It’s like deep blue eyes, you’ll drown into them. So I hope I’ve convinced you to read this book and the next of the series. I’ll go on with my review and try to keep the spoilers to a minimum. That means my review could be a bit empty when it comes to the story itself and the characters.

I love how the ‘supernatural’ are called Grisha, with all their beautiful uniforms. They are divided into three groups of Grisha, the Etheralki, the Korporalki and the Materialki. All are led by the Darkling. A character who is deeply intriguing!! He is dark, twisted and can be truly evil. But not all is said by one’s name, looks and reputation.But like the Darkling, there are more characters who are unique and different to the three main group of Grisha. Alina Starkov and Genya.

Genya is a beautiful character. She’s unique in more ways than one. She is more than most Grisha’s and has other powers.

Malyen Oretsev or just Mal isn’t someone I named before. He grew up with Alina, is not Grisha, but has a truly important role in this story and in the life of Alina.

Alina Starkov, our heroine… Not your typical heroine I must say. But I love her, and I believe you will too. She’s complicated, different and not at all like everyone else. Grisha or not. She’s sassy, stubborn and doesn’t keep quiet. I love her, yes I already said it, but it’s true.

I won’t do any more character reviews here, If will write another review of the series in total, with all the spoilers in it.

So my review in short again: This book [and series] is magnificent, Leigh Bardugo did an absolutely amazing job on this and you MUST read it [yes, in capitals!!]!!

 

In case you’ve missed these:

 

 

are-getting-married-3

Oh and please vote on my #MakeMeRead It Read-A-Thon. poll!! Only a few days left to decide what I’ll read next week [and probably after]!!

 

 

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

