#23 The Witch of Duva.

Synopsis:

There was a time when the woods near Duva ate girls…or so the story goes. But it’s just possible that the danger may be a little bit closer to home. This story is a companion folk tale to Leigh Bardugo’s debut novel, Shadow and BoneGoodreads

Leigh Bardugo - The Witch of DuvaAbout the Book:

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Book length: 43 pages

Series: The Grisha #0.5

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Short Stories, Novella, Fiction, Witch

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart4 out of 5 quills

 

Read on: April 12

“So shut the window tight and make sure the latch is fastened. Dark things have a way of slipping in through narrow spaces.”

 

What did I think of this novella?

I was not expecting this story. I love how Leigh Bardugo includes folk stories in her series!! They are intruiging stories and I can’t have enough of them!!

Leigh is a master in writing horror-like stories, I love it. It’s so dark, I need Alina [yes, I’m going fast forward in the stories, read them in another order than I publish my reviews hehe] to light things up a bit. I love dark fantasy, so Amen Leigh Bardugo!!

This story resembles a bit of Hansel & Gretel, I see I’m not the only one with that thought. But I only see the resemblence in the beginning of the story. Something about children who go missing, a witch and the smell of baked goods. But the rest of the story is totally different from Hansel & Gretel. And for the better that is!! I must say I like the fact the witch is also learning her valuable lessons and caring for her. She makes sure she’s washed, fed and taken care of. True, there are more horrific parts in the story. But I can’t help but feel that the witch also has a good and loving side.

So like Leigh to portay so called bad guys with a good side. I like that. It shows that indeed bad people can be good and do good things. There a few in the world who are completely evil. I can’t say everyone still has good in them, but I can’t believe every evil person is totally evil. So like The Demon in the Wood, this story is about someone to believed pure evil. I love Leigh for pointing out that most have a good side to them of still some humanity in them!!

 

In case you have missed these:

 

are-getting-married-3

Please don’t forget to vote on my poll. You choose [as many as you like] the books and you Make Me Read It!!

 

 

XoXo Felicia.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

