#21 The Magician.

Synopsis:

Ashes to ashes…

California:
In the hands of Dr. John Dee and the Dark Elders, the book of Abraham the Mage could mean the destruction of the world as we know it. The most powerful book of all time, it holds the secret of eternal life—a secret more dangerous than any one man should ever possess. And Dee is two pages away from the knowledge that would bring the Dark Elders into ultimate power.

His only obstacle? Josh and Sophie Newman—who are eight thousand miles away.

Paris:
After fleeing Ojai, Nicholas, Sophie, Josh, and Scatty emerge in Paris. The City of Lights. Home to Nicholas Flamel. Only, this homecoming is anything but sweet.

Niccolò Machiavelli, immortal author and celebrated art collector, is working for Dee. He’s in hot pursuit, and time is running out for Nicholas and Perenelle. Every day they spend without the book, they age one year: their magic becomes weaker and their bodies more frail. For Flamel, the Prophecy is growing clearer and clearer. It’s time for Sophie to learn the second elemental magic.

Fire Magic.

And there’s only one man who can teach it to her: Flamel’s old student the Comte de Saint-Germain—alchemist, magician, and rock star.

Josh and Sophie Newman are the world’s only hope. If they don’t turn on each other first. Goodreads

Michael Scott - The MagicianAbout the Book:

Author: Michael Scott

Book length: 464 pages

Series: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #2

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Magic, Mythology

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: January 24, 2016

Finished reading: January 28, 2016

“But do I need to say anything?” Sophie asked. “Do I need to learn any words?”
“Like what?” Saint-Germain said.
“Well, when you lit up the Eiffel tower, you said something that sounded like eggness.”
“Ignis,” the count said. “Latin for fire. No, you don’t need to say anything.”
“Then why did you do it, then?” Sophie asked.
Saint-Germain grinned. “I just thought it sounded cool.”

What did I think of the book?

I can’t remember how I finished it. It was quick, even though it took me four days. They were busy days I think, so I feel like I’ve read it in a blast.^^ I truly adore this series.

Oh the lovely Paris, I wish I could visit it again and remember it. Apparently I’ve been there when I was like 4 years old. I only have proof of being there because of pictures of little me in front of the Eifel Tower hehe… Okay and in 2010 I’ve been from Holland to Euro Disney and back in 24 hours.. So I haven’t actually been to Paris and could remember it…. I need to go there someday!! ^^ *romantic sigh*

Again this book is a race against the clock. It’s a big book, but a fast and detailed book. So it’s like the whole book is about events and happenings occurring over a few days… I like these kinds of books, it reminds me of Dan Brown’s Angel & Demons. That was a book where time passed only 24 hours total. I love such detailed books. It gives more to visualize over.

A new character was introduced here. Another historical celebrity: Niccolò Machiavelli. Another bad guy to add to the growing list. But he’s not a simple bad guy. He’s so bad he defies the other bad guy, Dr. John Dee and wants to follow his own devious scheme. So another man working against the Flamel’s and the twins.

I like how Sophie grows in this book. She learn the second  elemental magic. Fire Magic. She learn is from another historical figure. Comte de Saint-Germain. Apparently he is a famous alchemist and magician. And in the present day, a famous rock star. I like this twist, it’s funny!! And his wife is world-famous, in the book a mere civilian, she chooses to be. She likes it, the world thinks she’s dead. But a true friend of Scatty, a great help with the Newman twins. A character with a growing role in this series. Not gonna say who she is, but she gets a really big role from now on.

The relationship of Sophie and Josh is being tested from now on. Josh not being awakened by Hekate in the first book, starts feeling jealous. The beginning of the struggle to stick together and save the Flamel’s, the world and all the other shadowrealms.

I love how the story is growing. Not totally focussing on the twins. Michael Scott is really good in switching between characters and storylines. It’s detailed and fast-paced with a lot of action. That kind of writing keeps me hooked and makes me want to read until it’s finished, and then some more. ^^

What I’ve told you is not all there is to the book. This book contains a lot more than what I’ve reviewed so far. But I don’t want to spoil the whole thing. It’s a too interesting book to tell about everything. It’s better to read and experience it yourself!! This story holds more places, characters, myths, magic and action. I love it and I hope you will too. =]

 

In case you have missed these:

 

XoXo Felicia.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

