#20 Cinder.

Synopsis:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. Goodreads

Marissa Meyer - Cinder

About the Book:

Author: Marissa Meyer

Book length: 390 pages

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Dystopia,Romance, Fairy Tales, Retellings

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: March 2, 2016

Finished reading: March 5, 2016

“When Kai fell silent, she risked a glance at him. He was staring at her hands [which she always holds mechanic gloves over to hide her…you know, cyborg hands]…
“Do you ever take those off?” he asked.
“No.”
Kai tilted his head, peering at her as if he could see right through to the metal plate in her head…”I think you should go to the ball with me.”
She clutched her fingers…”Stars,” she muttered. “Didn’t you already asked me that?”
“I’m hoping for a more favorable answer this time and I seem to be getting more desperate by the minute.”
“How charming.”
Kai’s lips twitched. “Please?”
“Why?”
“Why not?”
“I mean, why me?”
Kai hooked his thumbs on his pockets. “So if my escape hover breaks down, I’ll have someone to fix it?”

What did I think of the book? [may contain spoilers]

I absolutely loved it. How imaginative to retell the fairy tales in a modern way. How about Snow White as an Asian cyborg who works as a mechanic. Including the deceased dad, stepmother Adri and step sisters Pearl and Peony. In this story the sisters aren’t as bad as in the original fairy tale, though, which I like. It’s nice to see that Marissa Meyer gives it her own twist, apart from the android part of course hehe. I truly like the fact that Marissa has done good research, for example, in the way first and last names are put in China.

Pearl and Peony aren’t as bad as I would’ve expected. Pearl resembles most with the evil stepsister. But Peony likes Cinder, wants to be in the basement watching Cinder work her mechanics. And has a sad part in the story… =[ She is so innocent and sweet….

I love Iko, an android with humanlike features, thoughts and emotions. She has the hots for Prince Kai hihi.

I truly love the cyborg part, by the way!! Some days I wish I could replace some joints for cyborg parts hehe… And the idea of having a computer in your head, I like this future. I truly do!! I can envision the future where people don’t need computers anymore, where people can live their life to the fullest with cyborg parts. Me wants that…

Prince Kai is indeed someone I’d like to meet and dance with aswell!! He’s so sweet and kind to people. Not at all what you would’ve expected a soon-to-be-emperor to be. I like how he disguises himself so he can bring Nainsi, his personal android, to the commoners market to let Cinder fix her.

I think the Letumosis is a sad part of the story. But, as in real life, disease comes with life. Okay, apart from the fact that the disease was made by Lunars to conquer the world eventually. In real life we also see man-made diseases which cause a hell of a lot of trouble. Think of the modern-day versions of Anthrax. Those diseases are weapons, and Levana, Queen of Luna, had it made for that purpose only. I think she’s a bitch!!

Dr. Erland is an interesting character. He does good work against the Letumosis, only the cyborg ‘volunteering’ program is harsh.. Especially when the volunteering is not the call of the cyborg in person. Just like Adri did, for money……. Yup, still a bitch… But the most interesting thing about Dr. Erland is how he reacts to Cinder, how he helps her. Reveals her truth to her and his own. I like the risks he is willing to take for the future of Luna and Earth. Levana can’t rule the Eastern Commonwealth, she wants it all…

Levana, at last, I can’t say it enough, is  bitch… She’s Queen of the Lunar Empire. Kills and destroys everything in her way. Blackmails Kai into a marriage so she can become Empress of the Eastern Commonwealth and eventually take over Earth, yes she truly has dark plans. When she notices Cinder, she wants her hunted, imprisoned/killed. Because Levana knows the truth. Cinder is the long lost princess of Luna. And the rightful heir to Levana’s throne.

To sum it all up, I think it was a brilliant story. I truly loved it and I was captivated from the first to the last page. The different POVs made for good tension building. It drove me crazy and I had to read on, could not stop!! Not only adventure and romance is in this story. But only Marissa Meyer can make intergalactic politic struggles so interesting^^

So I ‘m basically in love with her writing style, as you can see hehe^^.. The story of Cinder is not over yet. She has escaped imprisonment and fled the Eastern Commonwealth, what will she do in Europe? Will she ever see Kai again? And who is Carswell Thorne? Will Earth be saved from Levana and her tyranny in the galaxy? Check out Scarlet, my review on that will be coming soon ;]

are-getting-married-3

 

Remember to vote on my #MakeMeRead It Read-A-Thon poll. You may choose any books you like and recommend to me. You will decide what I’ll read during [and after, because I’m such a lousy decision maker] the Read-A-Thon.

 

Go check out my other posts:

XoXo Felicia.

8 thoughts on “#20 Cinder.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

