#12 A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Synopsis:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! Goodreads

Sarah J. Maas - A Court of Thorns and RosesAbout the Book:

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Book length: 416 pages

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Romance, Fairy Tales, Retellings, New Adult

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: April 18, 2016

Finished reading: April 24, 2016

“The walls weren’t moving, and the room was open – gaping. No colors, but shades of darkness, of night . Only those star-flecked violet eyes were bright, full of color and light. He gave me a lazy smile before he leaned forward.
I pulled away, but his hands were like shackles. I could do nothing as his mouth met with my cheek, and he licked away a tear. His tongue was hot against my skin, so starling that I couldn’t move as he licked away another path of salt water, and then another. My body went taut and loose all at once and I burned, even as chills shuddered along my limbs. It was only when his tongue danced along the damp edges of my lashes that I jerked back.
He chuckled as I scrambled for the corner of the cell. I wiped my face as I glared at him.
He smirked, sitting down against a wall. “I figured that would get you to stop crying.”
“It was disgusting.” I wiped my face again.
“Was it?” He quirked an eyebrow and pointed to his palm – to the place where my tatoo would be. “Beneath all your pride and stubbornness, I could have sworn I detected something that felt differently. Interesting.”
“Get out.”
“As usual, your gratitude is overwhelming.”

What did I think of the book? [spoilers]

O M G I love this book.. I can’t wait to get my hands on A Court of Mist and fury!! It was such a good book.

I can’t begin to describe why, it just is!!

Feyre is such a strong young woman. Her youth existing on hunting in dangerous wood, caring for her family after the loss of her mother. Torn away from them by fairies, because she had the gut to kill one of the creatures she despised and hated from the bottom of her soul. Standing up against creatures, who turn out to be a High Fairy Lord and his people. Just to make sure her family is cared for, even if she would die for it.

The progression of how she sees fairies is a beautiful thing to read. Her relationship with Tamlin, from hostile to loving. Her relationship with Lucien from hateful and resenting to loyalty and a sort of friendship. Servants who can’t speak to her who help her and get helped in return. It’s all a beautiful display of how ‘people’ get to know each other and change their opinion about the other [race] and work for the best together.

The excitement in the story when hell breaks loose, fairies die and  Feyre is imprisoned and challenged to death for the freedom of Tamlin, her fairies [yes they grew on her] and herself. Such climaxes in this part of the story, it’s enthralling to read this book.

I must say, nothing specific about the storyline, but what a detailed story. It’s was written so vividly I remember the book as if it was a movie. Not the way that a lot of details are left out, but I could imagine it.

As some say, reading is actually a weird-ass thing. We stare at inked sliced trees bound together and hallucinate. This story was no hallucination. This story was a one of fairies I needed. I loved it and it will definitely be on my to re-read list, like annually^^

2 thoughts on “#12 A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

