#8 Dorothy Must Die.

Synopsis:

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission. Goodreads

Danielle Paige - Dorothy Must DieAbout the Book:

Author: Danielle Paige

Book length: 452 pages

Series: Dorothy Must Die #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Retelings, Fiction, Magic, Fairy Tales, Adventure, Witches

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: May 11

Finished reading: May 15

“Never underestimate a girl from Kansas,”

What did I think about the book?

I truly liked this book. I think it’s nice to not read another retelling. This series is more of a follow-up story years after the original Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. It’s a refreshing new story that follows Amy Gumm. A girl like Dorothy Gale from Kansas. But not exactly like Dorothy.

I love the Good and Wicked weirdness in this book. It’s funny how confused the witches themselves get about the terms Good and Wicked. =] But the witches tell a life lesson too. They’ve been enemies for decades and fought each other, sometimes real nasty. But when a common enemy arises, Dorothy with Glinda behind her.So The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked is born. And Amy Gumm is awaited by them.

Training, fighting, and living the worst nightmares. That’s not like the tales of Oz Amy remembers from the movie and the books. But it’s nice to follow her training and issues with the witches. (and the occasional romantic moment^^)

I love how the story continues. The adventures and struggles she has. Always the hard choices to make. She is realistically portrayed by Danielle Paige. I like the way Danielle understands the way Amy feels so alone. It makes me think Danielle has a similar experience in her youth. If that’s so, I love how she turned the experience into a strong character in her novel!! If not so, she can portray characters with difficult youths very good.

Oh, not to forget I hope Amy gets the bitch down!! What an ending, couldn’t stop and read right on!! Perfect read for chilling on the beach on Curacao!!

3 thoughts on “#8 Dorothy Must Die.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

