#6 The Iron Queen.

Synopsis:

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back. Goodreads

Julie Kagawa - The Iron QueenAbout the Book:


Author: 
Julie Kagawa

Book length: 384 pages

Series: The Iron Fey #3

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Romance, Paranormal, Fairies

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: April 30

Finished reading: May 4

“My name is Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn, third son of the Unseelie Court…Let it be known–from this day forth, I vow to protect Meghan Chase, daughter of the Summer King, with my sword, my honor, and my life. Her desires are mine. Her wishes are mine. Should even the world stand against her, my blade will be at her side. And should it fail to protect her, let my own existence be forfeit. This I swear, on my honor, my True Name, and my life. From this day on…” His voice went even softer, but I still heard it as though he whispered it into my ear. “I am yours.”

What did I think of the book?

I see a lot of people who think this book is not as great as I think it is. Most people who share that opinion are annoyed by the overwhelming love story in the first half of the book, and the reactions of the characters to the love story.

I loved it, I truly do!! This love story is an important piece in this series. The story is about forbidden love and starts with a war because of it. Like Romeo and Juliet they do everything for each other, pledge their lives to each other and don’t care what their families think about it. They love each other. And yes, Puck is very jealous of Ash. Jealousy is human and realistic. You can’t expect Puck to be happy while seeing Megan and Ash together all the time. He loves her from the deepest of his soul, he can’t help it. I get his jealousy and forgive his grumpiness.

I loved Megan’s persistence when it comes to her ‘father’ and fighting. She doesn’t give up, even while hurt. She’s a tough girl and does everything to save her queendom, Ash, Puck and all of the Nevernever. I like her a lot.

The second part of the book contains a lot more action and excitement. It was an easy read for me, because I liked it a lot. I love how Julie makes the fae so human with their actions and emotions. I get that Ash is angry and upset when Megan doesn’t listen to him. He pledged his life to protect her. When he sees she can take care of herself, he doens’t feel needed anymore. His pride is hurt.. This shows his human emotions to me, and I like that. Because it’s said they don’t have a soul.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the ending.. It’s a good ending, but I hate how the book had to end. It was deep in the feels….

To conclude my review I stand with 5 stars!!

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

