#5 The Sword of Summer.

Synopsis:

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . . Goodreads

Rick Riordan - The Sword of SummerAbout the book:

Author: Rick Riordan

Book length: 528 pages

Series: Magnus Chase and the gods of Asgard #1

Genre: Fantasy, Mythology, YA, Adventure

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: May 10

Finished reading: May 18

“What kind of animal am I eating?’
Sam wiped her mouth with the back of her hand. ‘It’s named Saehrimnir.’
‘Okay, first of all, who names their dinner? I don’t want to know my dinner’s name. This potato–is this potato named Steve?’
She rolled her eyes. ‘No, stupid. That’s Phil. The bread is Steve.”

What did I think about the book?

Hail Rick Riordan, I kneel before you!! Okay OH MY GOD YES I HAVE TO DO THIS IN CAPS LOCK!! I LOVED THIS BOOK AND I WANT TO MARRY IT.. Okay not really, but this  book was magnificent. I laughed at least twice a PAGE hehe. It was so damn funny, so brilliant. Haven’t read the Percy Jackson series yet, because I wanted to wait to own them physically. Now I do own Percy Jackson and the Olympians, but didn’t want to bring them all to Curacao. Because of the weight and because I didn’t want to risk anything.

The sword of Summer I did bring and read on the plane and in my bed at the lovely hotel cabana, yes not a standard room but half of the second story of a beach cabana. (It’s amazingly beautiful)

But to continue on my review, I got to many quotes I love I couldn’t possibly post them all hehe…

“I smiled. “So this horse is your nephew, Sam?”
She glared at me. “Let’s not go there.”
“How did your dad father a horse?”
Blitzen coughed. “Actually, Loki was Sleipnir’s mother.”
“What–?”
“Let’s definitely not go there,” Sam warned.”

This is what I mean by brilliant quotes =]

“Back up,” I said. “What did Sam mean by again? You’ve lost your hammer before?” “Once,” Thor said. “Okay, twice. Three times if you count this time, which you shouldn’t, because I am not admitting that the hammer is missing.” “Right…” I said. “So how did you lose it?” “I don’t know!” Thor started to pace again, his long red hair sparking and popping. “It was just like…Poof! I tried retracing my steps. I tried the Find My Hammer app, but it doesn’t work!”

You’re getting my point?

“Could you do a glamour and turn into something smaller?” I asked it. “Preferably not a chain, since it’s no longer the 1990s?”

The sword didn’t reply (duh), but I imagined it was humming at a more interrogative pitch, like, Such as what?

“I dunno. Something pocket-size and innocuous. A pen, maybe?”

The sword pulsed, almost like it was laughing. I imagined it saying, A pen sword. That is the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.”

Okay, okay, I’ll stop posting. Want to read more of this brilliant humour? Go read this book!!

It’s so amazing I want to give 6 out of 5 stars =D

xoxo

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

