#3 The Iron King.

Synopsis:

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart. Goodreads

Julie Kagawa - The Iron KingAbout the Book:

Author: Julie Kagawa

Book length: 363 pages

Series: The Iron Fey #1

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Romance, Fairies, Paranormal, Magic, Adventure

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart5 out of 5 quills

Starting reading: April 25

Finished reading: April 26

“Ladies and Felines,” he stated grandly, grasping the doorknob, “Welcome to Tir Na Nog. Land of endless winter and shitloads of snow.”

What did I think of the book?

Whew, I finished it in a blast. Could have finished it in one go, but sadly I had to sleep. Although I like sleeping, but I like reading more. Hehe ;]

I loved it!! That why I gave it a 5 star-rating.

 

You get swept into this book so easily, it’s like breathing. My body reacted to the climaxes in the story real good. Whenever a thrilling piece came, my heart rate went up. I felt it all. Even when Meghan entered the Winter court, I got cold hehe. It’s like I was there living the story.

The humour in the story is very funny. It’s truly how ‘teens’ would react to each other or the weather. The following quote shows one of the funniest parts of the book for me:

I stared at the imposing tower, my stomach contracting with fear, until a tug on my backpack snapped me out of my daze. The pack rat stood there, an expectant look on his face, fingers twitching.

“Oh, yeah.” Fishing out the iPod, I handed it to him solemnly. “A deal’s a deal. Hope you enjoy it.

The pack rat chittered with joy. Clutching the device to his chest, he scuttled off like an enormous crab, vanishing back into the wastleand of junk. I head excited jabbering, and imagined him showing off his trophy for all to see.

One thing I truly like is the way Julie Kagawa makes the fey so human sometimes. She gives them the glamour to hide in plain sight, and make humans believe the fey are humans they see, or don’t see them at all. It makes you wonder; when you were a kid and believed in monsters under your bed or in your closet, weren’t they actually fey??

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

