#1 The Alchemyst.

Synopsis:

Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on 28 September 1330. Nearly seven hundred years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life. The records show that he died in 1418. But his tomb is empty and Nicholas Flamel lives. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects – the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. And that’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won’t know what’s happening until it’s too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it. Sometimes legends are true. And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time. Goodreads

About the boMichael Scott - The Alchemystok:

Author: Michael Scott

Book length: 375 pages

Series: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, first book

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Rating: ink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipartink-and-feather-quill-clipart half4,5 out of 5 quills

Started Reading: January 17, 2016

Finished Reading: January 24, 2016

 

“At the heart of every legend there is a grain of truth.”

What did I think of the book? (could contain spoilers…)

First of all. I don’t mind it’s not intertwined with the Harry Potter series. I was expecting a totally different series. This taking in mind I, not like most, was not disappointed they weren’t intertwined somehow. I opened my mind for a new adventure and got it!!

 

What an amazing detailed fantasy world. Michael Scott uses a very descriptive style which fits perfect in this story. The characters, events and places are all very good described to the reader. He gives the reader a lot of information, but it is important to get the full picture.

This story is so fast-paced and enthralling. It almost is impossible to put the book down. I finished it real quick and wanted to read on real bad.

I love the way he used Gods and Legends in his story.

Odorous magic? That’s brilliant and original!!

+ It is nice to see nice teenagers for once =] Sophie and Josh have a good reason not to be the typical, rebellious teenagers. It becomes clear throughout the story because they are the twins from the legend. Also, they moved around a lot because of their parent’s jobs. Because their parents are archeologists they don’t see them often and so they treasure the time they have together. But they do typical twins stuff. They rely on each other and trust only each other. That’s mostly because they’re twins, but also because of their parents. They only have each other, so trust each other and yourself.

The idea of shadowrealms I like. What is incredible is that those shadowrealms are hidden in plain sight, but invisible for normal humans.

+ Michael Scott did good research. A lot of characters in his books are based on true historical figures. Like the Flamel’s and John Dee. He gave them a new life in this series.

The Book of Abraham intrigues me. I’m excited to read on and learn more about it.

 I got one negative point about this book. I got the idea I was being reminded a lot about the fact that Josh and Sophie’s parents are archeologists.

 

So I thought this book was brilliant. I was really excited to read on. So that’s why I gave it 4,5 quills. I love it and will read it multiple times more in my life.

 

I will review the other books soon ;]  I’ll keep you posted =]

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

